An amazing weekend - Reisverslag uit Newcastle, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu An amazing weekend - Reisverslag uit Newcastle, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu

An amazing weekend

Door: Anne van Wijhe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

14 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Newcastle

In my eyes this was the perfect weekend with my housemates. On Thursday we had decided that we wanted to do something and go and see new parts of Belfast. The Kremlin Road Gaol was the solution. We were told that the tour was very informative and good. Unfortunately all the tours were full on Saturday. What was the next plan? Go to Newcastle for a day. All the way to England for just one day? You may wonder….No, my friends, I am talking about Newcastle Northern Ireland!

The children in my class had told me many good things about this place. One of the best things, the one I secretly was looking forward to the most, was that there is a Ben and Jerry’s ice cream shop. What more do you want? So naturally I wanted to see this place. And let me tell you, I was not disappointed…for the most part at least.
We got out of the bus and it immediately felt like I was on a holiday to the sun (only a bit colder of course). On my left I saw the beach and on my right I saw basically the end of the town. A small place with one main street where everything happens. The first thing I had to see was the sea and most of all I wanted to enjoy the sun. We walked around the city in the afternoon, drank a cup of coffee and had dinner in a nice restaurant…I had my first well prepared fish and chips meal on this day! So that is something to remember for ever.

The minute we got home we booked our tickets for a tour in the Kremlin Road Gaol. A jail that was used for 150 years before it closed its doors in 1996 due to old-fashioned buildings and cells. The tour started with a general explanation about the jail and some information on the content of the tour. We walked around in the cell blocks and on the terrain of the jail. Our tour guide told us how things used to work in this jail but much more interesting were the stories about ex-prisoners of this particular jail going on a tour. Even the one, who was able to escape.
Also the place is said to be haunted, they even organize haunted tours in the jail for the people who dare to go. I am still thinking about it…

After a weekend full of adventure, it is very hard to have to start working again. Thankfully St. Patrick’s Day is nearly upon us and I cannot wait to find out how I am going to like this Irish holiday. You will be the firsts to know!

  • 24 Maart 2017 - 16:01

    Tessa Bremen:

    There's something scary and beautiful at the same time about those Victorian prisons, don't you think?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 28 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 234
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7299

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Januari 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

Studeren in Belfast

28 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: