The start of a great adventure! - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu The start of a great adventure! - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu

The start of a great adventure!

Door: Anne van Wijhe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

18 Januari 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Belfast

As you may know this is the page on which I will keep you posted on my experiences here in the amazing city of Belfast. I have been here for almost two weeks now and I can hear you think…..Why wait that long to post a message? Let me explain.

It was a dynamic and stressful first week and I now have the chance to sit down and write. Also Just now I have been able to get access to the internet :)

On Friday January 6th I landed at the airport in Dublin after which I took the bus to Belfast. When I arrived in this strange city a student at St. Mary’s picked me up at the bus station to take me to what would be my home for the next 5 months. However, when we were driving he asked me where I had to go, so I told him the address. On which he said, ‘’Oh no, you’re not going there’’. The landlord had decided that he didn’t want Erasmus students living in his house anymore. What a great start of my stay, I thought. He then took me to another house where I could stay for the time being. At least until they found another place for me to stay. This was a house where one of my future housemates was staying as well. They were not at home, but luckily Cillian had a spare key….that didn’t work. This day got better and better by the minute. So, long story short. I stayed in one of the other Erasmus houses for one night and the next evening I was brought to my temporary room.

I had a tour through the city while waiting for the girls to come home. We drove through Belfast and I was taken to a lot of the most important places. One of these places were the docks from where the Titanic was built, and set sail, more than a hundred years ago. A museum is built there to give tourists a complete visual of the ship and its events. Fun fact, ‘The Titanic’ was voted the most popular tourist attraction in the world, last year. So forget the Statue of Liberty and the Eiffel tower, go to Belfast and visit the Titanic museum.

Finally a week into our stay, they had found a house for me and my housemates to stay. On Friday January 13th we officially moved to our new home. At last I could unpack all my bags and start settling in!

In the past weeks I feel I have done and seen a lot and I have met a group of great people. Together with the other Erasmus students, I have had my first week of school and got a taste of the nightlife in this city. Which is totally different from what I am used to I must say. I felt really underdressed, the girls here put so much effort in the way they look when they go out for a drink. I have seen nothing but skirts, dresses and high heels.

In school I have met a few of my lecturers and my academic mentor. We have looked at the courses I wanted to take and what my schedule would look like. I have registered into the school computers and got my student card. The classes I joined in on were mostly very interesting even though they were introductions to the rest of the course. What I like most so far is that everybody, from lecturers and students to other people I meet, are the friendliest people I have ever met. They want to help you with everything and will go the extra mile for someone else. I think I will definitely enjoy my stay here!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 28 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 232
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7334

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Januari 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

Studeren in Belfast

28 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: