Here we are again! - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu Here we are again! - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu

Here we are again!

Door: Anne van Wijhe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

23 Januari 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Belfast

Another week has passed and I must say, everything gets better and better! I found that it is definitely true when they say…time flies when you are having fun. There are just a couple of things I need to get off my chest before I dive into praising the week.

The longer we have stayed in the new house the more things we find ‘wrong’ with it...For example, the Wi-Fi doesn’t work, the washing machine doesn’t work, and there is no vacuum cleaner. I know there are all things we could in theory live without, but still it would be nice to have everything we pay for. Also, we still do not have all the keys to the house and we don’t know how to pay yet.
The students who used to live in this house have no idea why nothing is working. This is simply because they have never used all the things listed above. In fact, when we asked one of the guys why the washing machine doesn’t work he replied with a surprised ‘‘which one is the washing machine again?’’ It is kind of funny to see the guys look very puzzled when we ask all these questions.

But enough of my complaints…we have a place to stay and it is a nice house. What I have to get used to though, is the way you pay for the gas and electricity. It is a prepaid system for which you have to charge a card with a certain amount of money and when you run out of money, the heating and lights just stop working. So, it has happened a few times that we couldn’t take a shower or switch on a light. Before we leave here I will be on top of this system and charge the cards on time 

Anyway. This second week of college has been much more interesting than the first. I have been assigned a group to work with in a class called managing behaviour and the students have really made me feel a part of the group. I feel very welcome. They ask me a lot of questions and are interested in where I am from and what my opinion on certain issues is.
I think I will learn a lot from the way they look at teaching here in Ireland….it is much more conservative and strict than what I am used to. One of the first things I have learned is that the moment you enter the classroom you as a teacher command the pupils. Which is a good thing in a way because I want to improve my classroom management. Already I have heard a lot of great things I can work with. Since I am going to do my school based work at a primary school, I really have to find as much as possible to work with.

My lecturer read an article in a newspaper about the schools in the Netherlands and how laid back we are. It stated that the Dutch students are the happiest students. The lecturer was very impressed with that article and wanted to know if it was indeed true. Next week we have a class in which the lecturer just wants to hear from us, the Erasmus students, and how we teach in our own countries. I appreciate that the Irish teachers and students want to learn from us as well and not just the other way around.

Off course this week was not all about school and studying. There were a few parties to go to as well. It was one of the Erasmus students’ birthday. I say a reason for a celebration! We had an amazing night and got to know each other a little bit better. I am here with a great group of Erasmus students and I can honestly say that I like each and every one of them a lot.

Also, last weekend we went on a few trips and saw places that you have to see when in the north of Ireland. I will dedicate my next blogpost to this weekend, so stay tuned. Have a nice day and until the next one!

  • 23 Januari 2017 - 19:11

    Mirek:

    Cześć.
    I am very positive impressed with what you wrote.
    Excellent language and perfect stream of words.
    Waiting for more ☺

    Love from Brycki s

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 28 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 340
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7321

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Januari 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

Studeren in Belfast

28 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: