Fancy dinner and such - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu Fancy dinner and such - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu

Fancy dinner and such

Door: Anne van Wijhe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

26 Maart 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Belfast

This week has passed faster than every other week I have been here. At my school placement I am getting to know the pupils and they really appreciate what I do for them. Also I am improving my English skills, I understand all the pupils in my class now! Maybe even more important for me is that I am improving my maths skills ;) I now actually understand most problems the pupils have to solve…and I can explain them how they get to the correct answer.
I have taught the class three lessons about the Netherlands and the Dutch now and I have noticed that they really enjoy learning the language. I will probably do a lesson in the Dutch language next week when my coordinator will visit me in school.

A lot was going on in the school the past week, there were a lot of trips planned. A trip to Queens University for the P7 classes and a trip to the city cemetery for the P6 class. I had the opportunity to go on both trips. Both were very interesting. Actually for me the university was just a building I really wanted to see, as it is a beautiful building from the outside. The inside is, in some rooms, even more impressive. Everything is grand and beautifully decorated. The children got to see a few of the rooms and at the end of the morning there was a quiz for them (and me) to test their general knowledge.
The city cemetery was also a place I really wanted to visit, this is the cemetery I pass every day when I walk to school. And it is huge. I have found out that some pretty important and famous figures from the past are buried there. For example the founders of Harland and Wolf, mister Harland and Wolf, the largest ship building company in the world in their time (famous for building the Titanic), mister C. S. Lewis (writer of the Narnia books), and some more whom I forgot. I got distracted by the cold. Spending a whole day outside at this time of year in Ireland is not the best of things. Thankfully the second part of the trip, the art and crafts part, was inside. I must say, that was my favourite part of the day.

Not only in school time flies, but after school as well. I feel we are a great group of international students, this was confirmed at the farewell celebration dinner with the principal of the university. The principal had prepared a speech in which he thanked us for our input and effort to make the Erasmus program the best it can be. I also received my certificate, which states that I have completed the Erasmus+ courses successfully. I guess this means I am done for the semester…In all seriousness, I really appreciate that St. Mary’s invests time in us as international students. It makes me feel part of the school and that to me is valuable. The rest of the evening we spent talking, eating, and drinking together.

I am looking forward to what next week will bring. This will be the last week of school placement and also the last week before the Easter break. Which means the last week before I can show this part of the world to my parents and my sister :)

Ohh and also, before I forget, happy Mother’s Day from Ireland.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 28 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 224
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7319

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Januari 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

Studeren in Belfast

28 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: