Goodbye school, hello Easter break - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu Goodbye school, hello Easter break - Reisverslag uit Belfast, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Anne Wijhe - WaarBenJij.nu

Goodbye school, hello Easter break

Door: Anne van Wijhe

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Anne

05 April 2017 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Belfast

This was the last week of my school placement in a primary 7 class. Looking back on this experience I had an amazing time working with this group of children. Before I started, like 7 weeks ago, I never thought that I would actually enjoy myself in a classroom full of children and I was kind of dreading the fact that I had to go there. As I have mentioned in an earlier post, I don’t have the patience to work with 10-year-olds. This is still true. But…the appreciation I got from this class and all the children, I got to work with in this school, was overwhelming. All the kids in my class have tried to come up with ideas to make me stay until the end of May or ways to go back home with me.

I taught my last lesson this week and, as promised, my coordinator came to visit me. I taught the children to count to ten in Dutch and all the colours of the rainbow. They loved it! ‘’Anne, you are challenging me so much right now!’’ This is an actual quote from one of the children. That was the best compliment he could have given me. Also, my coordinator had very positive feedback. My English is sufficient (I sure hope so) and I have a good relationship with the children. They are not afraid to ask questions and make mistakes in my lesson.
The week went by very fast and I tried to enjoy every moment of it…Unfortunately, Friday came along and I had to say goodbye. I bought everyone a pen (for secondary school) and wrote a personal message for the children. They made me a card with their fingerprints on it and a message from everyone. I thanked the class before lunch and for some children it was a bit too much…I have seen some tears and was very surprised about that. This usually never happens when I leave a secondary school. The only thing I am used to hearing is, ‘’Do we get our own teacher back now? He/she is boring.’’
Getting hugs from all the children before I leave is a completely different experience. So it feels very strange not to go back this week.

A strange but a good feeling because my Easter break has started. Which means, a lot of time to travel and see more of Ireland. My adventures started with going to Bangor, after visiting IKEA and a quick stop in Holywood (just to say, I have been in Holywood).
Bangor is definitely one of the best places I have visited so far. It sort of looks like a city in southern Europe. This was partly because it was a very sunny and warm day, for Irish standards. There is a harbour with a lot of boats, the sea, the houses are like beach houses, and there is a park, for children, with some attractions and rides. The best part is that all of this is only half an hour away, by train, from Belfast.

This holiday is only going to get better and better I feel. There is just one downside. We have to leave the house we have lived in for the past few months, the boys are coming back from placement and need their rooms again. Where are we going to stay? Nobody knows…Let’s hope everything will be okay.
I’ll just try to stay one with nature…thanks for the tip p7!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Anne

Actief sinds 28 Dec. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 207
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7298

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Januari 2017 - 19 Mei 2017

Studeren in Belfast

28 December 2016 - 31 December 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: